Management Team

James Barry

James Barry

Senior Scientist/ Research Chair/ Benthic Ecologist

Heidi Cullen

Director of Communication & Strategic Initiatives

Board of Directors

Julie Packard, Chair
Executive Director, Monterey Bay Aquarium

Lynn Orr, Ph.D., Vice Chairman
Former Under Secretary for Science and Energy
U.S. Department of Energy

Christopher Scholin, Ph.D., President and Chief Executive Officer
Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute

Barbara P. Wright, Secretary
Partner, Finch Montgomery Wright LLP

Ned Barnholt
Chairman, President, CEO, Agilent Technologies (Retired)

Joel S. Birnbaum, Ph.D.
Senior Vice-President, Research and Development
Director, HP Laboratories (Retired)
Hewlett-Packard Company

Christopher Burnett
San Francisco Culinary Ventures LLC

Nancy Burnett
The David and Lucile Packard Foundation

Curtis Collins, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus, Department of Oceanography
Naval Postgraduate School

Dona Crawford
Associate Director for Computation Emeritus
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Susan Hackwood, Ph.D.
Executive Director
California Council on Science and Technology

Eric O. Hartwig, Ph.D.
Associate Director of Research (Retired)
Naval Research Laboratory

G. Ross Heath, Ph.D.
Dean Emeritus, College of Ocean and Fishery Sciences
Professor Emeritus, School of Oceanography
University of Washington

George N. Somero, Ph.D.
Associate Director
David and Lucile Packard Professor of Marine Sciences
Hopkins Marine Station
Stanford University