Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
EARTH

2012 EARTH Workshop Participants

Resources | Schedule | Participants | 2012 EARTH Satellite Home

Participants | Presenters

Name School/Organization Grade/Subject email

Elaine Beasley

Morehead-Camp Glen 5, All subjects ebteach4k@yahoo.com

Deborah Burton

Morehead-Camp Glen 5, Science deborah.burton@carteretk12.org

Jennifer Coggins

Morehead Middle 6, Science jennifer.coggins@carteretk12.org

Maryann Fore

Smyrna Elementary 4, All subjects maryann.fore@carteretk12.org

Jody Holloway

Croatan High 9-12, APES/Phys/Bio jody.holloway@carteretk12.org

Donna Jones

Newport Middle 7-8, Tech/Science donna.jones@carteretk12.org

Gail Lemiec

NC Aquarium-PKS K-12+, Science gail.lemiec@ncaquariums.com

Susan Merrell

Morehead Elementary 5, Science susan.merrell@carteretk12.org

Jennifer Mott

Myrtle Grove Middle 8, Science jenniemott@att.net

Guy Sanderson

Broad Creek Middle 7, Science guy.sanderson@carteretk12.org

Amy Sauls

Jones Senior High 9-12, APES/EES/Bio Amy.Sauls@jonesnc.net

Sherri Spangler-Herman

  AIG sherrispangler_herman@yahoo.com

Renee Synan

Morehead Middle 7, Math renee.synan@yahoo.com

Suzan Wallace

White Oak Elementary K-5, Visual Arts suzan.wallace@carteretk12.org

Back to Top

Name Organization City/State email

Miriam Sutton

Carteret County Schools
Earth/Environmental Science

Beaufort, NC

miriam.sutton@carteretk12.org

Windy Arey-Kent

North Carolina Aquariums,
Pine Knoll Shores

Pine Knoll Shores, NC

windy.arey-kent@ncaquariums.com

Windy is a graduate of the University of NC at Wilmington in Marine Biology and Environmental Science.  She has worked in the field of marine science education since 1991 in a variety of spots around the country including California, Oregon and of course, NC.  She is currently the Education Curator at the NC Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores.

Jennifer Dorton

University of North Carolina, Wilmington

Wilmington, NC

dortonj@uncw.edu

Jennifer Dorton is the Program Manager for the NOAA funded Coastal Ocean Research and Monitoring Program (CORMP) which is located at the UNC Wilmington Center for Marine Science.  Jennifer has been involved with real-time ocean observing systems in NC and SC for 8 years. Additionally, Jennifer works with the Southeast Coastal Ocean Observing Regional Association (SECOORA) which organizes the ocean observing community in NC, SC, GA and FL.  Jennifer works with CORMP and SECOORA partners to provide oceanographic and meteorological data to the National Weather Service, US Coast Guard, Marine Corps Base Camp Lejeune, and boaters and fishermen throughout the southeast.

Joel Fodrie

University of North Carolina,
Institute of Marine Sciences

Morehead City, NC

jfodrie@unc.edu

Dr. Joel Fodrie is an Assistant Professor of fisheries oceanography and ecology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where he studies the population dynamics of fishes and shellfish. Dr. Fodrie works along all three major U.S. coastlines, examining: 1) how the dispersal of marine organisms connects populations and affects overall fishery productivity; 2) how food-web interactions within estuarine communities can be used inform ecosystem-based management; 3) linkages between coastal habitat quality and fishery production; and, 4) how harvest pressure and climate variability have influenced the long-term population trends of fishery species (using multi-decade data sets). Dr. Fodrie earned his Ph.D. in Oceanography from the Scripps Institution of Oceanography (2006; University of California, San Diego) and was a post-doctoral researcher at the Dauphin Island Sea Lab (Dauphin Island, Alabama) before moving back to North Carolina – where he was raised and attended school as an undergraduate - in the summer of 2009. He has contributed 26 peer-reviewed articles and manuscripts that explore mechanisms of population variability for fishery species. These articles appear in journals such as Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, Ecology, and Limnology & Oceanography.

EARTH 2012 Satellite Workshop Home | Back to Top

Last updated: Dec. 14, 2012