Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
Where are the ships?
The current positions of the research vessels are indicated by the red crosses on the maps. Click on either map for a larger image. Position and video are updated every five minutes when the ships are within microwave communication range.

 R/V Western Flyer

Purpose: We will collect gelatinous organisms, emphasizing depths beyond 1500m. Our target organisms are: ctenophores, siphonophores, radiolarians and squid. Blue-water scuba dives will be conducted each morning except for the first and last days according to standard procedures, weather permitting. Three divers will be present on the ship and paperwork is filed with Kim Reisenbichler. Trawls will be conducted from 2000h to approximately 2300h each night. We will bring the trawl but will need the winch to be set-up and operated. Trawls will generally not be oblique, so dedicated operator time will be mostly during launch and recovery.

Chief scientist: Steve Haddock

Scheduled start time: 9/16/2014 3:00:00 PM UTC
[9/16/2014 8:00:00 AM Pacific]

Scheduled end time: 9/23/2014 3:00:00 AM UTC
[9/22/2014 8:00:00 PM Pacific]

Equipment: Midwater tool sled with D-samplers, extra D-samplers on swing arm, suction samplers and the spatulator. Blue light sources mounted to ROV toolsled. Equipment Blue LED lights and mounting brackets. RHIB. Midwater trawl & "trash" wire (or CTD wire) on winch for pulling trawl. Hazardous materials: Formaldehyde, paraformaldehyde, ethanol, glutaraldehyde, methanol (all used in the fume hood), liquid nitrogen in dewar.