Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
Where are the ships?
The current positions of the research vessels are indicated by the red crosses on the maps. Click on either map for a larger image. Position and video are updated every five minutes when the ships are within microwave communication range.

 R/V Rachel Carson

Purpose: This is Leg 4 of the 2014 Northern Expedition of R/V Rachel Carson. Leg 4 will depart Newport, OR on August 22 and transit one day to Gorda. After four op days the vessel will transit for two days back to Moss Landing. Legs 2-4 are focused on AUV and ROV seafloor surveys along the volcanic spreading centers of the Juan de Fuca Ridge and Gorda Ridge. The planned AUV survey sites for the entire expedition include the summit, north rift, and south rift of Axial Seamount, Gorda Ridge, North Escanaba Trough, and South Escanaba Trough. Two contingency surveys on Pioneer Seamount offshore San Francisco have been planned in case bad weather precludes AUV operations in the Escanaba Trough. One low altitude survey from ROV Ventana has been planned at Ashes Hydrothermal Vent Field within the summit caldera at Axial Seamount. Leg 4 is planned to include four AUV surveys: one on Gorda Ridge, two in the North Escanaba Trough, and one in the South Escanaba Trough. Additional surveys have been planned in the South Escanaba Trough and on Pioneer Seamount as contingency in case weather precludes operations to the north.

Chief scientist: Hans Thomas

Scheduled start time: 8/22/2014 2:00:00 PM UTC
[8/22/2014 7:00:00 AM Pacific]

Scheduled end time: 8/28/2014 11:30:00 PM UTC
[8/28/2014 4:30:00 PM Pacific]

Equipment: Mapping AUV, BPR (bottom pressure recorder), Ocean Imaging survey system integrated with ROV Ventana (400 kHz multibeam, stereo cameras, strobes, INS).