Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
David Packard Distinguished Lecturers

The David Packard Distinguished Lecture series, inaugurated in the year 2000, brings eminent ocean researchers to MBARI to educate our staff members on exciting developments in marine science and technology and forge closer ties with the top oceanographers in all fields. Our past Distinguished Lecturers include:

Carl Wunsch

2013—Dr. James R. McFarlane

International Submarine Engineering, Ltd.
Genesis and metamorphosis of underwater work capability
Carl Wunsch

2012—Dana Yoerger, Ph.D.

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Technology for scientific deep-sea exploration: Where have we been, where are we now, and where are we going?
Carl Wunsch

2011—Carl Wunsch, Ph.D.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Climate and Sea Level Change
Farooq Azam

2009—Farooq Azam, Ph.D.

Scripps Institution of Oceanography
The Microbial Sea Around Us
Donald Kennedy

2007—Donald Kennedy, Ph.D.

President Emeritus of Stanford University
Editor-in-Chief, Science Magazine

What's Happening to Science?

2006—Russ Davis, Ph.D.

Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Autonomous Components of the Ocean Observing System

2005—David M. Karl, Ph.D.

University of Hawaii
Microbial Oceanography: Its Scope, Challenges, and Opportunities

2004—Arthur B. Baggeroer, Ph.D.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Sonars, Acoustics, and Oceanography, or Oceanography, Acoustics, and Sonar?

2003—Fred Spiess, Ph.D.

Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego
Geodesy in the Service of Marine Geophysics

2002—Sallie W. Chisholm, Ph.D.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Prochlorococcus: A Window Into the Photosynthetic Machinery of the Oceans

2002—Melbourne G. Briscoe, Ph.D.

Office of Naval Research
Science, Technology, and People

2001—James P. Kennett, Ph.D.

University of California, Santa Barbara
Methane Hydrate Reservoir Instability: Implications for Marine Geology and Climate Change