Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
About MBARI
MBARI staff and visiting researchers

All phone numbers begin with (831) 775-xxxx

MBARI People and Visiting Researchers

MBARI People and Visiting Researchers

Name Phone Email @mbari.org Title

A

Mark Aiello 2056 marka Chief Engineer, R/V Rachel Carson
Jerry Allen 2042 jallen Machinist
Mandy Allen 1885 mandy Project Coordination and Compliance Specialist
Pat Allen 1724 pat Information Systems Administrator
David Anderson 2126 dmanderson CeNCOOS Program Director
Krystle Anderson 1962 krystle Research Technician
Olivia Arredondo 2069 arredondo Intern
Doug Au 1744 audo Director of Engineering Development

B

Charles Bachy 1853 cbachy Postdoctoral Fellow
Fred Bahr 1827 flbahr CeNCOOS Product Developer
Paul Ban 1999 pban First Mate/Relief Master, R/V Rachel Carson
Laughlin Barker 2089 lbarker Software Engineer
Nancy Barr 1770 barr Web/Print Project Manager
Jim Barry 1726 barry Senior Scientist
Alexa Baumer 1768 abaumer Intern
Kate Beittenmiller 2060 beittenmiller Intern
Kathy BeVard 1722 kbevard Accounting Specialist
Aric Bickel 1987 abickel CeNCOOS Program Manager
James Birch 2062 jbirch Director of the Surf Center
Larry Bird 1916 bila Mechanical Engineer
Sarah Black 1719 sblack Intern
Marguerite Blum 2080 mblum Research Technician
Charles Boch 1849 cboch Postdoctoral Fellow
Holly Bowers 1894 hbowers Postdoctoral Fellow
Peter Braccio 1924 braccio Information Systems Administrator
Knute Brekke 1951 knute Chief ROV Pilot, ROV Doc Ricketts
Peter Brewer 1706 brpe Ocean Chemist
Kurt Buck 1747 buku Senior Research Specialist
Mike Burczynski 1812 mikeb ROV Pilot/Technician, ROV Ventana
Ben Burford 1896 bburford91 Collaborator
Drew Burrier 1990 dburrier Intern
Stephanie Bush 1891 sbush Postdoctoral Fellow

C

Teresa Cardoza 1933 terri Logistics Support Specialist
David Caress 1775 caress Software Engineer
Francois Cazenave 1961 francois Mechanical Engineer
Mark Chaffey 1708 chma Electrical Engineer
Dan Chamberlain 1764 chda Electronics Officer
Francisco Chavez 1709 chfr Senior Scientist
Robert Chavez 1802 rchavez Intern
Amy Chen 1843 achen Intern
Chang Jae Choi 2079 cjchoi Postdoctoral Fellow
Anela Choy 2072 anela Postdoctoral Fellow
Lynne Christianson 2021 lynne Research Technician
David Clague 1781 clague Senior Scientist
Danelle Cline 1947 dcline Software Engineer
Paul Coenen 2099 coenen Electro-Mechanical Technician
Luke Coletti 1831 coletti Senior Research Technician
Doug Conlin 1927 conlin AUV Specialist
Neil Conner 1989 neil Information Systems & Database Administrator
Judith Connor 1728 conn Director of Information & Technology Dissemination Division
Mike Conway 1915 comi Marine Operations Technician
Judy Copeland 1760 judy Payroll Specialist

D

Meilina Dalit 1702 mdalit Administrator/Assistant to President
Trevor Daviscourt 2229 trevor Second Mate, R/V Western Flyer
Craig Dawe 1910 dacr Technical Support Manager/MARS Manager
Brian Dreyer 1844 dreyer Research Technician
Katherine Dunlop 1773 kdunlop Postdoctoral Fellow

E

Duane Edgington 1850 duane Software Engineer
Virginia Elrod 1983 elrod Senior Research Technician
Jon Erickson 1921 jon Mechanical Engineer
Ben Erwin 1838 berwin ROV Pilot/Technician, ROV Doc Ricketts
Gail Escobar 2022 gail Accounts Payable Specialist
Steve Etchemendy 1902 etst Director of Marine Operations

F

Natalie Fairchild 1932 fana Administrative Assistant
John Ferreira 1912 fejo Mechanical Technician
Jared Figurski 1967 jared Ocean Observatory Technician
Eric Fitzgerald 1934 efitzgerald Dock Foreman/Deckhand
Frank Flores 2045 frank Mechanical Technician
David French 1926 dfrench Marine Operations Technician
Gernot Friederich 1713 frge Senior Research Specialist
Jules Friederich 1888 jfriederich Research Assistant
Kim Fulton-Bennett 1835 kfb Public Information Specialist

G

Jonathan Garcia 1906 jgarcia Oiler, R/V Western Flyer
Kevin Gomes 2098 kgomes Software Engineering Group Leader
Joe Gomez 2075 jgomez Information Systems Administrator
Annette Gough 1701 goan Administrator / Research & Development
Dale Graves 1913 grda Manufacturing Group Leader
Chris Grech 1909 grch Deputy Director of Marine Operations
Aaron Gregg 2002 aaron Master, R/V Rachel Carson
Magdalena Gutowska 2012 mgutowska Postdoctoral Fellow
Roberto Gwiazda 1828 rgwiazda Senior Research Specialist

H

Steven Haddock 1793 haddock Scientist
Andrew Hamilton 1861 hamilton Mechanical Engineering Group Leader
Cindy Hanrahan 1727 jocy Administrator / Research & Development
Rachel Harbeitner 2029 rharbeitner Collaborator
Julio Harvey 1789 jharvey Senior Research Technician
Larry Hawkins 1817 larryh Shipping/Receiving Clerk
Kent Headley 1822 headley Software Engineering Group Leader
Madison Heard 1864 mheard Intern
Ken Heller 2074 kheller MARS Operations Technician
Richard Henthorn 2033 henthorn Software Engineer
Bob Herlien 1750 bobh Software Engineer
Brett Hobson 1941 hobson Mechanical Engineer
Christine Huffard 1839 chuffard Senior Research Technician

I

Brian Imsland 1906 bimsland Oiler, R/V Western Flyer

J

Nancy Jacobsen-Stout 1718 jana Video Lab Supervisor
Hans Jannasch 1717 jaha Senior Research Specialist
Scott Jensen 2032 sjensen Electrical Engineer
Valeria Jimenez Thamm 2117 vjimenez Research Assistant
Ken Johnson 1985 johnson Senior Scientist, Chemist
Shannon Johnson Williams 1772 sjohnson Senior Research Technician
Brent Jones 2064 bjones Engineer

K

Kakani Katija 1952 kakani Postdoctoral Fellow
Chad Kecy 2039 ckecy Electrical Engineer
Brian Kieft 2070 bkieft Software Engineer
Bill Kirkwood 1707 kiwi Senior Research & Development Engineer
Denis Klimov 1914 klimov Electrical Engineer
Linda Kuhnz 1840 linda Senior Research Technician

L

Dana Lacono 1616 dana Grants Assistant
Erik Larson 2227 elarson Chief Mate, R/V Western Flyer
Karen Lash 1813 karen Accounting Operations Supervisor
Alexander "AJ" Limardo 1873 alimardo Graduate Research Assistant
Chris Lovera 1892 lovera Senior Research Technician
Katie Loweth 1901 kate Administrator
Eve Lundsten 1972 eve Senior Research Technician
Lonny Lundsten 1762 lonny Senior Research Technician

M

Toni Mackenzie 1771 toni Administrative Assistant
Roman Marin III 1859 maro Senior Research Technician
Tom Marion 1923 tmarion Electronics Technician
Eric Martin 1862 emartin Electrical Engineer
Louis Martinez 1801 louis Maintenance Technician
Rosemary Martino-Rodriguez 1848 rosemary Information Systems & Database Administrator
Gene Massion 1922 magene Mechanical Engineer
George Matsumoto 1757 mage Senior Education & Research Specialist
Greg Maudlin 1907 magr Bosun, R/V Rachel Carson
Thom Maughan 1865 tm Software Engineer
Mike McCann 1769 mccann Software Engineer
Kennedy McCone 1777 kmccone Intern
Rob McEwen 1863 rob Software Engineer
Paul McGill 1738 mcgill Electrical Engineer
Andrew McKee 2223 mckee Master, R/V Western Flyer
Matthew McNaughton 1907 mmcnaughton 2nd Engineer, R/V Western Flyer
Beatriz Mejia Mercado 1890 bmejia Intern
Ed Mellinger 1730 meed Electrical Engineer
Charlene Merrell 1798 char Facilities Coordinator
Monique Messié 1836 monique Research Specialist
Aaron Micallef 1877 aaron.micallef Collaborator
Reiko Michisaki 1739 reiko Senior Research Technician
Patrick Mitts 1906 mitts Steward/Deckhand, R/V Western Flyer
Jim Montgomery 1742 jimm Electronics Technician
Prateek Murgai 1996 pmurgai Intern

N

Melinda Nakagawa 1716 mnakagawa Research & Administrative Assistant
Matthew Noyes 1906 mnoyes Chief Engineer, R/V Western Flyer
Vincent Nunes 1907 vincent Deckhand, R/V Rachel Carson

O

Craig Okuda 1931 craig Electrical Engineer
Tom O'Reilly 1766 oreilly Software Engineer
DJ Osborne 1908 djo ROV Pilot/Technician, ROV Ventana
Sheldon Ozaeta 1804 sheldon Information Systems Administrator

P

Jenny Paduan 1729 paje Research Specialist
Douglas Pargett 2073 pargett Mechanical Engineer
Joan Parker 771-4415 joan Librarian
Mike Parker 1911 pami Mechanical Technician
Jennifer Patterson 2010 jpatterson CeNCOOS Information Manager
Charles Paull 1886 paull Senior Scientist
Samantha Peart 2004 peart Intern
Edward Peltzer 1851 etp3 Senior Research Specialist
Tim Pennington 1715 peti Research Specialist
Monty Perry 1749 monty Facilities Manager
Mike Pinto 1776 pinto Chief Financial Officer
Josh Plant 1832 jplant Senior Research Technician
Camille Poirier 1842 cpoirier Research Technician
Christina Preston 1754 preston Research Specialist
Randy Prickett 2020 rprickett Senior ROV Pilot, ROV Doc Ricketts

R

Ben Yair Raanan 1904 byraanan Research Assistant
Jose Ramirez 2018 jramirez Intern
Jim Rehkopf 1704 rehjr Senior Accountant
Kim Reisenbichler 1720 reki Research Specialist/Diving Safety Officer
Alice Ren 2024 aren Intern
Erich Rienecker 1854 erich Instrumentation/Marine Operations Technician
Michael Risi 1834 mrisi Software Engineer
Bruce Robison 1721 robr Research Chair
Virginia Rodriguez 1701 vr Office Assistant
Brent Roman 1808 brent Software Engineer
Jose Rosal 1796 jrosal E-Technician Supervisor
Carlos Rueda 1929 carueda Software Engineer
Todd Ruston 1997 truston Information Systems Manager
John Ryan 1978 ryjo Senior Research Specialist

S

Carole Sakamoto 1737 saca Research Specialist
Karen Salamy 1820 salamy Software Engineering Technician
Mariah Salisbury 1893 mariah Administrative Assistant
Brian Schlining 1855 brian Software Engineer
Kyra Schlining 1784 schlin Senior Research Technician
Kristin Schneider 1752 kristin Human Resources & Benefits Specialist
Jim Scholfield 1765 scji Senior Mechanical Technician
Chris Scholin 1779 scholin President and Chief Executive Officer
Rich Schramm 1712 rich Software Engineer
Darrin Schultz 1735 dschultz Research Technician
Jeff Sevadjian 1888 jsevadjian Research Technician
Farley Shane 1756 shfa Mechanical Engineer
Rob Sherlock 1763 robs Senior Research Technician
Alana Sherman 1780 alana Electrical Engineering Group Leader
Perry Shoemake 1906 perry Bosun, R/V Western Flyer
Bill Shroyer 1816 bill Information Systems Administrator
Paris Smalls 1956 psmalls
Jason Smith 1826 jsmith Postdoctoral Fellow
Ken Smith 1710 ksmith Senior Scientist
Michael Jordan Stanway 1960 mjstanway Software Engineer
Norm Steinberg 1711 stno Director of Human Resources
Sebastian Sudek 2071 ssudek Research Specialist

T

Mark Talkovic 1945 talkovic Senior ROV Pilot, ROV Doc Ricketts
Josi Taylor 2053 josi Research Associate
Hans Thomas 1976 hthomas AUV Group Leader
Duane Thompson 2003 drthom AUV Specialist
Ray Thompson 2051 rayt Machine Shop Supervisor
Bryan Touryan-Schaefer 1937 bryan ROV Pilot/Technician, ROV Doc Ricketts
Giancarlo Troni 1868 gtroni Postdoctoral Fellow
Paul Tucker 2041 tuck E/M Maintenance Technician
Mark Tynes 2049 mtynes Machinist

U

Bill Ussler 1879 methane Senior Research Specialist SURF Center

V

Tara Vadas 1774 tara Human Resources & Safety Assistant
Susan Von Thun 2006 svonthun Senior Research Technician
Greg Voogd 1755 gregv Maintenance Technician
Robert Vrijenhoek 1799 vrijen Senior Scientist

W

Christopher Wahl 1746 cwahl Operations Engineer
Todd Walsh 1797 todd Audio Visual Specialist
Kristine Walz 1810 kwalz Research Assistant
Peter Walz 1740 wape Senior Research Technician
Lance Wardle 1906 wala First Engineer/Relief Chief Engineer, R/V Western Flyer
Patrick Whaling 1723 whpa Senior Research Technician/Assistant Safety Officer
Jessica Whelpley 1824 jwhelpley Intern
Susanne Wilken 1869 swilken Collaborator
Wiley Wolfe 2018 wolfe Intern
Alexandra Z. Worden 2122 azworden Microbiologist

Y

Kevan Yamahara 1957 kyamahara Research Specialist

Z

Yanwu Zhang 2028 yzhang Senior Research Specialist
Lisa Ziccarelli 1958 lziccarelli Research Assistant
Amy Zimmerman 1903 amyz Postdoctoral Fellow