Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
EARTH

2013 EARTH Workshop Participants

Resources | Schedule | Participants | Photos | Feedback | 2013 EARTH Home

Participants | Staff | Scientists

Participants Name Organization City/State email
katrina alegado

Katrina Alegado

8th Grade Science Teacher
Twin Falls Middle School
Maple Valley, WA gtalegado@q.com
dolphingrrl79@gmail.com
alegadok@svsd410.org
Martha Chacon

Martha Chacon

Chemistry Teacher
Santa Monica HS
Los Angeles, CA martha.diazchacon@gmail.com
robyn ehrlich

Robyn Ehrlich

Secondary Science Teacher
Kihei Charter School
Maui, HI robyn.ehrlich@gmail.com
elizabeth eubanks

Elizabeth Eubanks

8th Grade Sci./HS Mar. Sci.
Pope John Paull II Jr/High School
Boca Raton, FL hoocaca@yahoo.com
mark friedman

Mark Friedman

Animo Leadership Charter Redondo Beach, CA marklewisfriedman@gmail.com
jenna gasparino

Jenna Gasparino

Santa Monica HS Venice, CA dillonjenna@gmail.com
Lindsay Knippenberg

Lindsay Knippenberg

Secondary Science Teacher
Mooresville High School
Mooresville, NC lindsayknippenberg@gmail.com
Carmelina Livingston

Carmelina Livingston

STEM Education Specialist
Einstein Fellow
S2TEM Centers SC
Charleston, SC carmlivingston@gmail.com
Katie Lodes

Katie Lodes

St. Joseph's Academy Ballwin, MO katielodes@yahoo.com
Beth Marass

Beth Marass

Biology, Mar. Bio. and Env. Science
Grades 10, 11 and 12
Sanford High School
Springvale, ME bmarass@me.com
Bradley Mason

Bradley Mason

Sacred Hearts School Maui, HI bmason@sacredheartsschool.net
Anne McCarthy

Anne McCarthy

Lee High School San Antonio, TX ajc341@gmail.com
Nettie McMiller

Nettie McMiller

MBARI Summer Intern Durham, NC nmcmiller7521@gmail.com
Beverly Owens

Beverly Owens

Crest Middle School Shelby, NC bsowens@clevelandcountyschools.org
owensscience@hotmail.com
Donna Reinhart

Donna Reinhart

Chemistry/Environmental Teacher
Cheltenham High School
Ambler, PA donnakreinhart@gmail.com
Steve Seal

Steve Seal

Eshelman Ave. Elementary School Hermosa Beach, CA Steveseal@msn.com
Jennifer Seki

Jennifer Seki

Science Teacher
University Laboratory School
Oahu, HI jennifer_seki@universitylaboratoryschool.org
 

Alia Thompson

Kaimuki Middle School Oahu, HI aliat@hawaii.edu
Caitlin Ullock

Caitlin Ullock

Biology Teacher Grades 9-12
Pittsford-Mendon SHS
Pittsford, NY cullock@ymail.com

Back to Top

Staff Name Organization City/State email
George Matsumoto

George Matsumoto

MBARI
Education and Research Specialist
Monterey, CA mage@mbari.org
Jim Foley

Jim Foley

C-MORE (Hawaii)   foleyj@hawaii.edu
Stephanie Schroeder

Stephanie Schroeder

Education Director
Center for Dark Energy Biosphere Investigations (C-DEBI)
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA slschroe@usc.edu
Ann Close

Ann Close

Assistant Director, Wrigley Institute
Co-Managing Director, C-DEBI
Los Angeles, CA close@wrigley.usc.edu
Jennifer Magnusson

Jennifer Magnusson

MBARI EARTH Program
Webmaster
Vancouver, BC magnusson.web@gmail.com

Back to Top

Staff Name Organization City/State email
John Ryan

John Ryan

Senior Research Specialist 
Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute

Monterey, CA

ryjo@mbari.org

Darcy McRose

Darcy McRose

Graduate Student
Princeton University, Department of Geosciences

Princeton, NJ

mcrose@princeton.edu

Robert Bidigare

Robert Bidigare

Hawai‘i Institute of Marine Biology
University of Hawai‘i

Kane‘ohe, HI

bidigare@hawaii.edu

Shimi Rii

Shimi Rii

Graduate student in Church’s lab
University of Hawai‘i at Manoa (UH Manoa)

Honolulu, HI

shimi@hawaii.edu

Angelos Hannides

Angelos Hannides

PostDoctoral Researcher
University of Hawai'i at Manoa
Marine Geology and Geochemistry Division

Honolulu, HI

hannides@hawaii.edu

I am a marine scientist with broad-ranging research interests, varying from benthic ecosystem function, to coastal and deep-sea biodiversity and biogechemical benthic-pelagic coupling. I have worked extensively on the interaction of chemical conditions and biological processes, mainly in marine sediments but also in most of the other marine habitats: the euphotic zone (surface) of the water column, river-ocean margins, estuaries, hard substrate communities, coral reefs, and deep-sea chemosynthetic habitats. I studied at the Univ. of Miami (Florida), Stony Brook Univ. (New York), and the Univ. of Hawaii, from which I received my PhD in 2008. I then spent four years in my country of origin, Cyprus, where I worked as a government scientist, as a consultant for the private sector, and as a lecturer and researcher at the Univ. of Cyprus. I am currently a post-doctoral fellow at the Dept. of Oceanography of the Univ. of Hawaii and associate researcher with the Oceanography Center of the Univ. of Cyprus.
John Kirkpatrick

John Kirkpatrick

Postdoctoral Fellow
The University of Rhode Island
Graduate School of Oceanography

Narragansett, RI

jbk@gso.uri.edu

John Kirkpatrick earned his PhD at the University of Washington, where he investigated microbial nutrient cycling in anoxic environments such as the Black Sea. After obtaining his degree in chemical oceanography with a certificate in Astrobiology, he moved to the University of Rhode Island as a Center for Dark Energy Biosphere Investigations (C-DEBI) postdoctoral fellow. He is currently engaged in obtaining and sequencing DNA and RNA from deeply buried sediments, including sites where novel organisms may be catalyzing novel nutrient cycling pathways. Other research interests include DNA preservation, degradation, and analysis of ancient organisms. Prior to his scientific career, John spent 3 years living in rural Japan as an assistant language teacher (K - 9).

EARTH 2013 Home | Resources | Back to top

Last updated: Jul. 18, 2013