Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
EARTH

2011 EARTH Workshop Participants

Resources | Schedule | Feedback | EARTH Home

Participants | Staff | Scientists

Participants Name Organization City/State email
katrina alegado

Katrina Alegado

Twin Falls Middle School
8th Grade Science Teacher

Maple Valley, WA

gtalegado@q.com

kama almasi

Kama Almasi

Isaac Newton Magnet School
6th - 8th Grade Teacher
Math, Science, Health

Newport, OR

Kama.Almasi@lincoln.k12.or.us

kama almasi

Lisa Busch

Sitka Sound Science Center
Encounters Radio

Sitka, AK

lisajeanbusch@gmail.com

jo ann day

Jo Ann Day

Petersburg Middle and High School
Grade 7-12 Teacher
Science, Pre-algebra, Consumer Math

Petersburg, AK

Jday@pcsd.us

pamela garcia

Pamela Garcia

Auke Bay Elementary School
Instructional Coach K-5
University of Alaska, Southeast
Adjunct Math Ed professor

Juneau, AK

pamelangarcia@gmail.com

lisa golisek

Lisa Golisek

Alaska State Museum
Education & Visitor Services Coordinator
Science on a Sphere, Sea Week

Juneau, AK

lisa.golisek@alaska.gov

jenny heckathorn

Jenny Heckathorn

Valdez High School
Biology, Marine Biology, PE, Health

Valdez, AK

Jenny_Heckathorn@valdez.cc

Teresa Hedges

Teresa Hedges

Kodiak School District
K-8 Gifted/Talented

Kodiak, AK

thedges01@kibsd.org

erin heim

Erin Heim

Alaska SeaLife Center

Seward, AK

erinh@alaskasealife.org

marita kleissler

Marita Kleissler

Prince William Sound Science Center

Cordova, AK

Marita.Kleissler@gmail.com

carmelina livingston

Carmelina Livingston

St. Andrew's School of Math and Science
Grade K-5 Lead Science Teacher
Einstein Distinguished Educator

South Carolina

livingstonc@knology.net

Katie Lodes

Katie Lodes

St. Joseph's Academy
Grade 9-12 Girls Teacher
Biology, Env. Science, Marine Sciences

St. Louis, MO

katielodes@yahoo.com

Michael Mahoney

Michael Mahoney

Mt. Edgecumbe High School
Grade 9-12 Teacher
Integrated Science, Env. Science, Chemistry

Sitka, AK

mikem@mehs.us

beth marass

Beth Marass

Sanford High School
Grade 10-12 Teacher
Env. Science, Biology, Marine Biology

Sanford, ME

bmarass@sanford.org

anne mccarthy

Anne McCarthy

Claudia Taylor "Lady Bird" Johnson HS
Grade 9-12 Teacher
Math, Computers, Adv. Quantitative Reasoning

San Antonio, TX

amccar@neisd.net

bonita nelson

Bonita Nelson

Discovery Southeast
Sea Week Program Coordinator
Juneau Science Fair
NOAA Lab Tour Coordinator

Juneau, AK

bonita.nelson@noaa.gov

carlyn nichols

Carlyn Nichols

Seward High School
7th, 9-12 Grade Teacher
Biology, Chemistry, Physical Science

Seward, AK

CNichols@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

donna reinhart

Donna Reinhart

Cheltenham High School
Chemistry Teacher

Glenside, PA

donnakreinhart@gmail.com

barbara simon-waters

Barbara Simon-Waters

East Carteret High School
Grade 9-12 Teacher
Earth and Marine Science

Beaufort, NC

barbarasimonwaters@gmail.com

sheryl sotelo

Sheryl Sotelo

McNeil Canyon Elementary School
6th Grade Teacher

Homer, AK

SSotelo@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

miriam sutton

Miriam Sutton

Croatan High School
Grade 9-12 Teacher
Earth/Environmental Science

Beaufort, NC

miriam.sutton@carteretk12.org

beth trowbridge

Beth Trowbridge

Center for Alaskan Coastal Studies
Education Program Coordinator:
Peterson Bay Field Station
Wynn Nature Center

Homer, AK

beth@akcoastalstudies.org

deanna wheeler

Deanna Wheeler

J.C. Parks Elementary School
Grade 3-5 Teacher

Indian Head, MD

potomaceyes@msn.com

Back to Top

Staff Name Organization City/State email
george matsumoto

George Matsumoto

MBARI
Education and Research Specialist

Monterey, CA

mage@mbari.org

marilyn sigman

Marilyn Sigman

COSEE-Alaska
Program Director;
Alaska Sea Grant
Marine Education Specialist

Anchorage, AK

msigman@alaska.edu

nora deans

Nora Deans

NPRB
Communication and Outreach Director

Anchorage, AK

nora.deans@nprb.org

darcy dugan

Darcy Dugan

AOOS
Program Manager

Anchorage, AK

dugan@aoos.org

andi anderson

Andi Anderson

COSEE-Alaska
Project Evaluator

Seattle, WA

andrea@soundviewevaluation.com

jennifer magnusson

Jennifer Magnusson

MBARI EARTH Program
Webmaster

Vancouver, BC

magnusson.web@gmail.com

Back to Top

Scientists Name Organization City/State email
george matsumoto

Jeremy Mathis

University of Alaska, Fairbanks
Assistant Professor
Ocean Acidification

Fairbanks, AK

jmathis@sfos.uaf.edu

russ hopcroft

Russ Hopcroft

University of Alaska, Fairbanks
Professor
Biological Oceanography

Fairbanks, AK

rhopcroft@alaska.edu

danielle dickson

Danielle Dickson

NPRB
Program Manager:
Gulf of Alaska Integrated Ecosystem Research Program

Anchorage, AK

danielle.dickson@nprb.org

tom van pelt

Tom Van Pelt

NPRB
Program Manager:
Bering Sea Project

Anchorage, AK

tvanpelt@nprb.org

kris holderied

Kris Holderied

NOAA Kasitsna Bay Lab
Director

Homer, AK

kris.holderied@noaa.gov

raphaelle descouteaux

Raphaelle Descouteaux

University of Alaska, Fairbanks
M.S. Student, Marine Biology
Kasitsna Bay Lab

Fairbanks, AK

rdescouteaux@alaska.edu

EARTH 2011 Home | Resources | Back to top

Last updated: Jul. 18, 2013